North Carolina Gun Laws and Legislation:
Link for current changes to Gun Laws or New Legislation: www.nraila.org/gun-laws/state-gun-laws/north-carolina/
Some of the Standard content on this NRA site:
- STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION - Article 1, Section 30,
- Gun Laws Overview,
- CONCEALED CARRY RECIPROCITY by State,
- Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms, and
- NORTH CAROLINA NEWS on LEGAL & LEGISLATION Acts.
North Carolina: Gov. Cooper Vetoes House Bill 398 Pistol Permit Repeal MONDAY, AUGUST 30, 2021.
Governor Roy Cooper, who is no friend to the Second Amendment rights of law-abiding citizens, also ignores the recommendations of law-enforcement. Today, he vetoed House Bill 398, NC Sheriffs’ Association-backed legislation to repeal the pistol permit in favor of the federal NICS background check. This is the second piece of pro-Second Amendment legislation Gov. Cooper has vetoed this year, the first being a self-defense bill.
Yesterday, the House passed House Bill 398, to repeal the pistol permit in favor of the federal NICS background check. It now goes to the Senate for further consideration.
- “This legislation came at the direct request of the NC Sheriffs’ Association,” said Rep. Jay Adams, author of the bill. “We have made significant improvements in updating the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and it simply no longer makes sense to have our sheriffs tasked with approving and issuing individual pistol purchase permits. It is duplicative, costly and an unnecessary burden on law enforcement and law-abiding gun owners.”
Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms -- For more detail visit: www.nraila.org/gun-laws/state-gun-laws/north-carolina/
- No state permit is required to purchase a rifle or shotgun.
- It is lawful for citizens of the State to purchase rifles and shotguns and ammunition in states contiguous to this State.
- Pursuant to North Carolina Statute 14-402, it is unlawful for any person, firm, or corporation to sell, give away, or transfer, or to purchase or receive, any pistol without either a Pistol Purchase Permit or a North Carolina concealed handgun permit held by a resident of the State at the time of the purchase.
- There are no state licensing requirements to possess a rifle, shotgun, or handgun.
- It is unlawful for any person under 18 to possess or carry a handgun. (This prohibition shall not apply to personnel of the Armed Forces of the U.S. when in discharge of their official duties; educational or recreational purpose while supervised by an adult who is present or an emancipated minor who possesses such handgun inside his or her residence; while hunting or trapping with written permission from a parent or guardian.
- It is unlawful for a child under the age of 12 to possess or use any gun, loaded or unloaded, unless the child is under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian.
- At least 45 days prior to the expiration date of a permit, the sheriff of the county where the permit was issued shall send a written notice to the permittee explaining the permit is about to expire, including information about the requirements for renewal of the permit. The notice shall be sent by first class mail to the last known address of the permittee. Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not relieve a permittee of the requirements imposed for renewal of a permit. The permit of a permittee who applies for renewal within the 90 day period before expiration, who complies with this section, shall remain valid beyond the expiration date of the permit until the permittee either receives a renewal permit or is denied a renewal permit by the sheriff. During the renewal period, a sheriff may waive the requirement to take another firearms safety and training course. If a permit expires, a sheriff may waive the requirement of taking another firearms safety and training course if the permittee applies within 60 days after a permit expires.